Wed November 15 2017

All the winners from this year’s Esports Industry Awards

by Charlie Fripp, ESPN

It might not be the biggest award ceremony in the world when compared to something like the Academy Awards, but the Esports Industry Awards is the leading prize-giving event when it comes to esports.

According to, this year’s awards included the first women to be recognised in esports, with League of Legends Championship Series presenter Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere being awards the Personality of the Year, while Megan “RheingoldRiver” Cutrofello was awarded Unsung Hero of the Year.

“Global recognition and awareness of esports has absolutely exploded over the last twelve months and that has been reflected in the amazing support we’ve had for our awards this year,” said Tom Mercey, director and co-founder of the Esports Industry Awards.

“We created the awards to celebrate everyone who contributes to making Esports such a global phenomenon and we’re thrilled to have been joined by so many leading lights of the industry this year as well as celebrities from the world of music, film and TV”

The full list of winners are below:

Breakthrough Game of the Year - PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds

Commercial Partner of the Year - G-FUEL

Coverage Website of the Year - ESPN Esports

Game of the Year - Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Journalist of the Year - Duncan “Thorin” Shields

Photographer of the Year - Joe Brady

Publisher of the Year - Riot Games

Hardware Provider of the Year - Intel

Videographer of the Year - Davis “OpTic Hitch” Edwards

Streamer of the Year - Dr.Disrespect

Streaming Platform of the Year - Twitch

Broadcaster of the Year - Alex “Machine” Richardson

Console Player of the Year - Matthew “FormaL” Piper

Live Event of the Year - League of Legends World Championship (RIOT)

PC Player of the Year - Amer “Miracle” Barqawi

Personality of the Year - Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere

Rookie of the Year (Console) - Victor ‘Punk’ Woodley

Rookie of the Year (PC) - Abay “HObbit” Khassenov

Team of the Year - OpTic Gaming

Unsung Hero of the Year - Megan “RheingoldRiver” Cutrofello

UK Player of the Year - Spencer “Gorilla” Ealing

Play of the Year - Matthew “FormaL” Piper